Backup of Posts

Discussion in 'Technical Problems' started by Jorgelito, Feb 14, 2015.

  1. Jorgelito

    Jorgelito ¡Olé!

    Messages:
    482
    Backup of posts

    Tony, I am not making backups -- post, thread, text or images -- as I had been doing previously. I'd rather not do this. I'd rather just write what I need to write. It seems practical that I perform backups but essential that I do not. Another conundrum. May I be empowered as an admin to retrieve data from system backups as I need? Hmm, maybe not a good idea.
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2015
  2. Jorgelito

    Jorgelito ¡Olé!

    Messages:
    482
    Backup of selected nodes

    upload_2015-2-18_20-39-26.

    The subject and text of what I write has I think only real importance to me and secondary relevance to others. And it is in the writing of it that transforms. Knowledge is free upon the asking. No one has exclusive use. So it is not what I know but that I write that calls to me.

    The value of Thuban for me -- and for others I suspect -- aside from the inherent freedom it showers upon all those that enter -- is that it enables us to create -- make strong -- what already exists -- by weaving what has been woven before, being the remembering process in a nut shell. Thuban helps in this process.

    I think I could perform daily backups if necessary of selected nodes that would be hidden (by making nodes private) so the casual browser would not confuse the "real" threads with the "backup" threads. What do you think about this? It would at least double the disk space required for a forum depending on how many snapshots of a node are taken. Is disk space a problem, Tony?
     
    Last edited: Feb 19, 2015
  3. admin

    admin Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,256
    The entire forum is backed up every Sunday Jorgelito. I keep at least 2 backups from the most recent two weeks for safe keepings.
    So all your posts and messages are in a backup file, which is stored separately from the forum; should anything go wrong with the forum.
    And no disk space should not be a problem, so you can create 'hidden' and visible nodes to your likings.

    TonyB.
     
  4. Jorgelito

    Jorgelito ¡Olé!

    Messages:
    482
    Fixing corrupt data by keeping a shadow forum
    adventures in left brain and going to the beach


    Thanks for the info, Tony. So I tried to copy a node. It's not possible for me. I can only copy posts and threads. In practice this means any restoration of a thread or post would mean asking for your assistance -- rather than just fixing the problem myself -- unless I keep and maintain every post I make on my computer. . .

    Unless I build a shadow image (node) of my forum on Cosmogenesis thread by thread and then maintain its integrity thereafter -- a short burst of left brain but not as much as bookkeeping as maintianing a copy of text, image and thread on my computer. Going for a walk on the beach to see what comes up.

    upload_2015-2-20_9-45-39.
     
    Last edited: Feb 20, 2015
  5. admin

    admin Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,256
    There are programs to make clones of websites/forums Jorgelito. And no we can't copy nodes, even in a full access admin function, which you have.
    I can always send you a backup and you can then try to convert it on your computer.

    You might also try this and play with it.

    http://www.httrack.com/

    TonyB
     
  6. Jorgelito

    Jorgelito ¡Olé!

    Messages:
    482
    Yes, I would like to play with that. Could be fun!
     
  7. admin

    admin Well-Known Member Staff Member

    Messages:
    3,256
    I used this to copy spruz and it worked fine, except the groups, but this was a spruz error.
    So you should be able to copy what you wish to save onto your computer.
     

Share This Page